Log into your member account to listen to this article. Not a member? Join the herd.

Race for Governor

Jubilee party won 25 Governors seats, followed by Orange Democrative Party, 13 seats. Two candidates Mohamed A. Kuti of Isiolo and Ndiritu Muriithi of Laikipia defied the odds and won as Independents


3 out of the 10 women who run for Governor were successful. Anne Waiguru (Jubilee/Kirinyaga) Joyce Laboso (Jubilee/Bomet) and Charity Ngilu (NARC/Kitui) beat their male counterparts to make history as Kenya’s first female County Governors.

Jubilee Party won 24 Senate seats followed by Orange Democratic Party’s 13 seats. One candidate Charles Ruebenson Kibiri of Kirinyaga defied the odds and won as an Independent.


Race for Senator



Susan Wakarura Kihika (Jubilee/Nakuru), Fatuma Dullo (Jubilee/Isiolo) and Margaret Jepkoech Kamar (Jubilee/Uasin Gishu) were elected to the Senate.

Jubilee Party won 139 seats in the National Assembly, followed by Orange Democratic Party with 63 seats. Thirteen candidates won as Independents.

National Assembly

22 women were elected to the National Assembly


Women Representatives

Majority of elected Women Representative are from the jubilee party.